113th Annual ECA Convention

(Re)union

Philadelphia Marriott Old City

Thurs., April 7 – Sat., April 9


Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

2022 Eastern Communication Association Convention

(Re)union 

Philadelphia Marriott Old City 

April 7 to 9, 2022


Submission Deadline:  October 15, 2021 11:59 (Eastern Time)

The 2022 ECA convention will be an opportunity for (re)union! If all goes well, the 2022 convention will be our first “in person” ECA after two years of being unable to gather our community together. We seek to make ECA 2022 an occasion of joyous reconnection and opportunity to build new connections among our community members. We also seek to make ECA 2022 a location of reflection, deliberation, and learning as we emerge from the global pandemic and consider how we as Communication educators and scholars will contribute to a post-pandemic world.

We invite ECA interest groups and members to develop programming for the 2022 convention that focuses on “(Re)union” in a variety of ways, including:

  • Reuniting colleagues who have similar research and teaching interests
  • Reuniting colleagues who have made significant contributions through their collaborative work
  • Reuniting colleagues who have shared mentorship experiences
  • Building new unions within ECA to move our discipline forward
  • Building new unions between ECA and the larger communities in which our members live and work
  • Creating opportunities to connect around shared research and teaching interests
  • Opportunities for reflection on the effects of the global pandemic on our teaching, research, and professional development and how to move forward
  • Deliberation on how communication scholars and educators contribute to a post-pandemic world

We look forward to our 2022 (re)union!

Pamela J. Lannutti
First Vice President
Widener University
pjlannutti@widener.edu

Additional Submission Information:

ECA utilizes Attendee Interactive to manage submissions and reviews. ECA will send an email to members and update the Convention section of its website with a link to the submission link this summer.  To submit your work, you will be prompted to login using ECA-specific credentials (you do not use login credentials you may have created for any other association, such as NCA, that uses Attendee Interactive), or to create an account. 

You may only submit a single paper to one interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

The Attendee Interactive link will be available soon!

You must include the following Statement of Professional Responsibility with all papers, posters, and proposals:  

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that an accepted paper, panel, or poster is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the ECA convention, pay fees, and present the work. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies should take all possible measures to arrange an alternate presenter, and communicate their plans to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 2022


ECA 2022 CONVENTION PLANNERS CONTACT INFORMATION

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
                             Pamela J. Lannutti
                             Widener University
                          pjlannutti@widener.edu
                                  

Second Vice President

Melanie Laliker
Bridgewater College
mlaliker@bridgewater.edu
and
Tracey Holden Quigley
University of Delaware
tqholden@udel.edu

Director of Sponsorship

Julie Volkman
Bryant University
jvolkman@bryant.edu
and
Nancy Willets
Cape Cod Community College
nwillets3@gmail.com

Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Angela Corbo
Widener University
amcorbo@widener.edu

Short Course Director

Anne Mattina
Stonehill College
amattina@stonehill.edu

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference

Jordan Atkinson
Missouri Western State University
jatkinson3@missouriwestern.edu 
and
Nicolas Tatum
nick.t.tatum@gmail.com

 Graduate Poster Session

Katie Dunleavy
La Salle University
dunleavy@lasalle.edu


2022 Interest Group Planners

 

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
David Hoffman
Baruch College - CUNY
david.hoffman@baruch.cuny.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Candace Thomas-Maddox
Ohio University Lancaster
thomas@ohio.edu

Applied Communication
Katie Sudnick
U of North Carolina, Wilmington
sudnickk@uncw.edu

Interpretation and Performance
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
hobsonkd@jmu.edu

Argumentation & Forensics
Sean Luechtefeld
Johns Hopkins University
seanluechtefeld@gmail.com


Kenneth Burke
Annie Laurie Nichols
St. Vincent College
Annie.nichols@stvincent.edu

Communication Administration
Ann Frymier
Ohio University
frymier@ohio.edu

Media Communication
Lukas Pelliccio
Lincoln University of PA
lukaspelliccio@outlook.com

Communication Law & Ethics
Thomas Flynn
Slippery Rock University
thomas.flynn@sru.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization)
Jeff Bogaczyk
Duquesne University
jbogaczyk@gmail.com

Communication and Technology
Joel Ward
Geneva College
jsward@geneva.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Zach Carr
SUNY University at Buffalo
zmcarr@buffalo.edu

Communication Traits
Joseph Lybarger
University of Tennessee
jlybarge@vols.utk.edu

Organizational Communication
Michael Sollitto
Texas A&M – Corpus Christi
Michael.sollitto@tamucc.edu

Community College
Jessica Papajcik
Stark State College
jpapajcik@starkstate.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Matthew Mancino
Indiana University
mattmanc@iu.edu

GIFTS
Christi Saindon
Queensborough Community College
CSaindon@qcc.cuny.edu

Political Communication
Rod Carveth
Morgan State University
rodcarveth@gmail.com

Health Communication
Amanda Damiano
Marist College
Amanda.damiano@marist.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Abbe Depretis
Carnegie Mellon University
abbe.depretis@gmail.com
and
David Seitz
Penn State Mont Alto
Dws220@psu.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Thom Gencarelli
Manhattan College
thom.gencarelli@manhattan.edu

Theory and Methodology
Christopher Bondi
University of Louisiana- Monroe
bondi@ulm.edu

Instructional Communication
Daniel Mansson
Penn State Hazelton
Dhm14@psu.edu

Voices of Diversity
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
khobson@jmu.edu
Intercultural Communication
Angela Putman
Penn State Brandywine
Abp5335@psu.edu