112th Annual ECA Convention


Virtual Convention

Wednesday, March 24 – Sunday, March 28, 2021

Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

Submission deadline: October 15, 2020 11:59 PST

Our vision for the 2021 ECA conference, to be held virtually, is to engage “Resilience” thoughtfully as a persistent response to overcoming obstacles, thriving despite challenges, and adapting to an ever-changing global landscape.  As we are embedded in a historical moment marked by “wicked problems,” we look forward to the opportunity to explore resilience for global communities and share possibilities for teaching, research, civic engagement, as well as in our professional and personal endeavors.  We recognize that inherent within resilience are conflict and struggle.  However, from this discomfort, resilience brings a power and a responsibility to share with the larger global community.

As we respond to global concerns ranging from climate change and terrorism to concerns within higher education and our discipline, we find resilience in ways that attend to both the community and the individual.  Despite the challenges we face in our classrooms, on our campuses, and in the world, we have a choice to preserve what is available and find opportunities for growth.  

Viewed as a symbol of American culture and history, our original, in-person conference location, Cambridge stands as an icon of resilience.  Prior to the colonial era, this region was home to the Algonquin people who cultivated the land of the well-watered region that was conducive to growing their crops.  The tribe’s resilience allowed them to nurture the land while facing disease and tribal warfare.  When 700 Puritans arrived in 1630, they developed a thriving community and later renamed the town after Cambridge, England in 1638.

Cambridge is part of the Greater Boston area of Massachusetts and situated on the North Bank of the Charles River.  Known as the “City of Squares,” Cambridge is home to fine dining, eclectic shopping, theaters, museums, and historical sites.

Some historical milestones include the following:

  • Cambridge is considered the birthplace of the American Revolution.
  • Cambridge is home to the oldest institution of higher learning in the United States, which held its first commencement in 1642.
  • The first Massachusetts Constitutional Convention met in Cambridge in 1779–80.
  • Cambridge is the site of the first printing press and the first books printed in America.
  • Cambridge is home to the first and most complete public transit system.
  • Cambridge is one of the first places to integrate schools.
  • Cambridge’s Main Street was once referred to as Confectioner’s Row, featuring candies that we know as Junior Mints, Charleston Chews, Sugar Daddies, and NECCO wafers.
  • Cambridge is the site of the first Fig Newtons that were made in 1891.

Our Cambridge convention and the “Resilience” theme encourage us to learn from what the city has to offer communication scholars.  We invite ECA interest groups and members to develop programming for the 2021 convention that focuses on “Resilience” across communication contexts and the ways that we…

Share Resilience
Communicate Resilience
Foster Resilience
Initiate Resilience
Find hope in Resilience
Inspire Resilience
Make sense of Resilience
Celebrate Resilience
Critique Resilience
Learn Resilience 

Our hope is that through the conference experience, we will contribute to the ongoing “Resilience” conversation and reveal our persistence as we respond to the challenges of the 21st century.

Amanda G. McKendree
First Vice President
University of Notre Dame

Please include the updated Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2021 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present virtually. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2021 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of January 2021.

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 15, 2021


Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
                             Amanda G. McKendree
                           University of Notre Dame

Second Vice President

Susan Mancino
St. Mary’s College

Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Steve Granelli
Northeastern University

Short Course Director

Jordan Atkinson
Missouri Western State University

Director of Sponsorship

Matthew Mancino
Indiana University-South Bend

Graduate Poster Session

Margaret Mullan
East Stroudsburg University

Technology Coordinator

Douglas C. Strahler
Slippery Rock University

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference

Jessica Papajcik
Stark State College
Nicholas Scott Smith
Wayne State University

Basic Course Conference

Dawn Pfeifer Reitz
Penn State University, Berks

2021 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
David Hoffman
Baruch College - CUNY

Intercultural Communication
Rukhsana Ahmed
University at Albany, SUNY

Applied Communication
Jennifer Owlett
William Paterson University

Interpersonal Communication
Mary King
Bloomsburg University

Argumentation & Forensics
Robert Green
Bloomsburg University

Interpretation and Performance
Elizabeth Whittington
Texas Southern University

Communication Administration
Mary Mino
Penn State DuBois

Kenneth Burke
Cem Zeytinoglu
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania

Communication Law & Ethics
Jason Zenor

Media Communication
Lukas Pelliccio
Lincoln University

Communication and Technology
Daniel Hunt
Worcester State University

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization)
Jeff Bogaczyk
Duquesne University

Communication Traits
Xu Song
Stockton University

Nonverbal Communication
Caroline Waldbuesser
West Connecticut State University

Community College
Jessica Papajcik
Stark State College

Organizational Communication
Robin Smith Mathis
Kennesaw State University

Susan Ward
Delaware County Community College

Philosophy of Communication
Ryan McCullough
West Liberty University

Health Communication
Julie Volkman
Bryant University

Political Communication
Colin Kearney
Bellarmine University

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Thom Gencarelli
Manhattan College

Rhetoric and Public Address
Heather Stassen
Cazenovia College

Instructional Communication
Steve Granelli
Northeastern University

Theory and Methodology
Susan Mancino
St. Mary’s College

Voices of Diversity
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University