114th Annual ECA Convention

Harboring Innovation

Hyatt Regency Inner Harbor

March 29 to April 2, 2023


Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

 114th Annual ECA Convention

2023 ECA Convention Logo2023 Eastern Communication Association Conference

Harboring Innovation

Hyatt Regency Inner Harbor

Baltimore, MD

March 29 to April 2, 2023

 


Submission Deadline: October 16, 2022, 11:59 PST



“Innovate”:
To make changes in something established, especially by introducing new ideas, methods, or activities. To create transformation, revolution, metamorphosis.

When the 2020 ECA convention was canceled less than two weeks before its scheduled date, innovation probably meant something different to us all than it does today. Innovation became more important than ever before during an extended period of virtual teaching, difficult access to research participants and venues, and the absence of venues like the ECA convention. Thus, I felt it appropriate to take up the intended theme of my first ill-fated but fully-planned 2020 convention for 2021. And I encourage all ECA members and communication researchers to bring their best thoughts about innovating the field, our scholarship, our teaching, and our outreach to Baltimore.

Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, an area with one of our nation’s richest and most innovative histories, offers a unique setting for our discipline’s oldest existing association to gather and consider the ways in which we innovate. In 1608, Captain John Smith sailed north from the newly formed Virginia Colony and described the wild hunting lands that were the future site of Baltimore as “not inhabited but navigable,” foreshadowing the kinds of visionary leadership, creativity, and innovation that has characterized Baltimore throughout its long and challenging history. Baltimore seems to be a place that grows both in calculated ways and out of adversity:

  • Baltimore is the place where Francis Scott Key’s, The Star Spangled Banner was born.
  • Baltimore overcame division and ruin in a difficult, gradual recovery from the American Civil War.
  • Baltimore has innovated in front of, and in response to, shifts and disruptions in the economy, education, technology, and healthcare.
  • Baltimore was a model to the nation for its major renovation of neglected downtown and waterfront areas after World War II.
  • Baltimore has orchestrated an ongoing and evolving renaissance after the collapse of the American steel industry, led by visionaries such as Under Armour founder Kevin Park.
  • Baltimore is a hub of art, culture, sports, and entertainment (Travel + Leisure even named Baltimore “the coolest city on the East Coast” and Zagat listed it as “one of the most exciting food cities” in the U.S.)
  • And Baltimore is where ECA will continue its positive and innovative path as the oldest existing professional association in the communication field.

Our Baltimore Inner Harbor convention and the “Harboring Innovation” theme provide us with the opportunity to consider the lessons the city has to offer communication scholars.

I invite ECA interest groups and members to develop programming for the convention that focuses on how we have innovated and how we need to innovate to remain relevant, cutting-edge, and unique. In what ways is our field at the forefront of studying the powerful relationships among communication and our relationships, organizations, communities, and the environment? What innovative theories, questions, methods, data analysis techniques, and practices are emerging from our field? What opportunities exist for us to innovate with our research, service, pedagogy, and practice? How are you responding to your environment to ensure that your work and our field are addressing the practical communication concerns of today and tomorrow?

Our “Harboring Innovation” conference will provide a venue to showcase how we are innovating, and to deliberate the ways in which we must innovate to ensure that the communication discipline continues to make an important impact at all levels of society. I look forward to us all being together for a second year after a long period of being apart. The annual ECA convention is so important to us all, and a vital in-person convention just can’t be substituted. I can’t wait to see everyone.

Jennifer Waldeck
University of Georgia
jwaldeck@uga.edu


ECA 2023 CONVENTION PLANNERS CONTACT INFORMATION

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
                             Jennifer Wadeck
                            University of Georgia
                      jwaldeck@uga.edu / 714-225-6441
                                  

Second Vice President

Jordan Atkinson
Western Missouri State University
jatkinson3@missouriwestern.edu

Director of Sponsorship

Katherine Thweatt
SUNY Oswego
katherine.thweatt@oswego.edu

Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Leeanne McManus Bell
Stevenson University
lbell@stevenson.edu

Short Course Director

Sally Vogl-Bauer
University of Southern Indiana
svoglbauer@usi.edu

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference

Scott Myers
West Virginia University
Scott.myers@mail.wvu.edu

Graduate Poster Session

Kishi Rey
Clemson University
rirey@chapman.edu
and
Nikki Blau
Ohio University
dobransk@ohio.edu

Basic Course Conference Directors

Sean Horan
Fairfield University
seanmhoran@gmail.com
and
Erin Craw
Chapman University
craw@chapman.edu

Social Media Director

Kishi Rey
Clemson University
rirey@chapman.edu


2023 Interest Group Planners

 

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
David Hoffman
Baruch College - CUNY
david.hoffman@baruch.cuny.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Candace Thomas-Maddox
Ohio University Lancaster
thomas@ohio.edu

Applied Communication
Katie Sudnick
U of North Carolina, Wilmington
sudnickk@uncw.edu

Interpretation and Performance
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
hobsonkd@jmu.edu

Argumentation & Forensics
Sean Luechtefeld
Johns Hopkins University
seanluechtefeld@gmail.com


Kenneth Burke
Annie Laurie Nichols
St. Vincent College
Annie.nichols@stvincent.edu

sans-serif; font-size: 15px; font-style: normal; font-variant-caps: normal; font-weight: 400; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: auto; text-align: start; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: auto; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-size-adjust: auto; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; background-color: #fbfbfb; text-decoration: none; display: inline !important; float: none;">448957,Communication Administration
Mary L. Kahl
Pennsylvania State University, the Behrend College
marylkahl@gmail.com

Media Communication
Lukas Pelliccio
Lincoln University of PA
lukaspelliccio@outlook.com

Communication Law & Ethics
Thomas Flynn
Slippery Rock University
thomas.flynn@sru.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization)
Jeff Bogaczyk
Duquesne University
jbogaczyk@gmail.com

Communication and Technology
Joel Ward
Geneva College
jsward@geneva.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Zach Carr
SUNY University at Buffalo
zmcarr@buffalo.edu

sans-serif; font-size: 15px; font-style: normal; font-variant-caps: normal; font-weight: 400; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: auto; text-align: start; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: auto; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-size-adjust: auto; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; background-color: #fbfbfb; text-decoration: none; display: inline !important; float: none;">447041,Communication Traits
Charles Wigley
Canisius College
wigley@canisius.edu

Organizational Communication
Michael Sollitto
Texas A&M – Corpus Christi
Michael.sollitto@tamucc.edu

Community College

Christi Saindon
Queensborough Community College
CSaindon@qcc.cuny.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Matthew Mancino
Indiana University
mattmanc@iu.edu

GIFTS
Kerry Loinette-Byrnes
Collin County Community College
kloinette@collin.edu


Political Communication
Rod Carveth
Morgan State University
rodcarveth@gmail.com

Health Communication
Amanda Damiano
Marist College
Amanda.damiano@marist.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Abbe Depretis
Carnegie Mellon University
abbe.depretis@gmail.com
and
David Seitz
Penn State Mont Alto
Dws220@psu.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Thom Gencarelli
Manhattan College
thom.gencarelli@manhattan.edu

Theory and Methodology
Christopher Bondi
University of Louisiana- Monroe
bondi@ulm.edu

Instructional Communication
Daniel Mansson
Penn State Hazelton
Dhm14@psu.edu

Voices of Diversity
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
khobson@jmu.edu
Intercultural Communication
Angela Putman
Penn State Brandywine
Abp5335@psu.edu