EASTERN COMMUNICATION ASSOCIATION (ECA) INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION DIVISION

Minutes from the Intercultural Division at the ECA meeting held in Boston. The meeting occurred in the Hawthorne Room of the Parker House Hotel at 8:00am on Saturday March 31st, 2017.

Four members were present -

- Doreen M. S. Jowi (Chair) from Bloomsburg State University
- Gong Luo from Ohio University GL463715@ohio.edu
- Ruma Sen from Ramapo College rsen@ramapo.edu
- Bruce F. Wickelgren (Temporary Secretary) from Suffolk University <u>bwickelgren@suffolk.edu</u>

Elections And Elected Officers

- 1. A representative to the Executive Council of ECA was elected **Doreen M. S. Jowi** to begin in April. She will Chair the 2018 Intercultural Division at ECA in Pittsburgh
- 2. The Chair for the Division for 2019 was elected. Bruce F. Wickelgren from Suffolk University
- 3. Secretary for the Division is **Kathryn Hobson** from James Madison University. Ms. Hobson graciously volunteered to serve.

Information

- 1. Next year's convention
 - a. In Pittsburgh, PA
 - b. April 25 29, 2018
 - c. It was shared that there would be no tech available for presenters from the hotel due to expense. This means participants will need to bring their own if they so desire.
 - d. Executive Council suggests co-sponsored submissions
 - e. Deadline for submissions of papers and panels is October 15th.
- 2. Reviewers
 - Doreen M. S. Jowi, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
 - Bruce F. Wickelgren, Suffolk University
 - Ruma Sen, Ramapo College
 - Gang Luo, Ohio University
 - Kathryn Hopson, James Madison University
 - Shavonne Shorter, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
 - Sraeash Das, University of Maryland, College Park
 - Rukhsana Ahmed, University of Ottawa
 - Shuzhen Huang, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
 - Lauren MacKenzie, Marine Corps University
 - Ningxin Wang, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce F. Wickelgren, Ph.D., Suffolk University/Temporary Recording Secretary