Kenneth Burke Society Eastern Communication Association Philadelphia, PA April 25, 2015

Call to order 9:30 (Jean Miller)

2014 Minutes submitted and approved

Report on Philadelphia (Jean Miller)

- 5 panels plus top paper panel accepted and programmed
- 6 total programs minus 1 panel (withdrew) = 5
- 2 "traditional" paper panels; 1 roundtable; 1 top paper panel; 1 special recognition panel (co-sponsored with RPA, Argumentation & Forensics, and Vice President)
- Gratitude to reviewers, chairs, and respondents
- Top Paper Award to Joe Hatfield, Syracuse U

Executive Committee Report (Elvera Berry)

- thinking about what the role of the community college is at ECA, interested in giving more support to faculty
- reviewing how ECA is organized; now going to distribute number of sessions based on the bylaws
- membership is 36 so we get three slots (one slot allocated/every 12 members, so we're just over the line for 3)
- unsure whether we have 3 slots total or 3 + business meeting
- need to think about how to get our membership up
- larger groups may give up some slots, but unclear how that will be redistributed
- idea (Jim Klumpp): ECA should allow more than 3 affiliations when registering (perhaps 5?)

Report on ECA 2016

- Hyatt Regency Baltimore
- Earlier date: March 30-April 3
- Theme: [R]evolution
- panel ideas?
 - Jean Miller: did Burke represent an evolution or a revolution in public address studies? (co-sponsor)
 - Matt Mancino: organizations as organisms
 - Annie Laurie Nichols: play with the idea of cyclical (revolution) vs. linear (evolution) manners of looking at the world

New Business

• Elect Program/Chair for 2017-2018: Brian Gilchrist

- Elect Secretary for 2017-2018: Annie Laurie Nichols (note: may want to offset secretary with planner/chair election; perhaps have Annie Laurie for one term and elect new secretary at 2016 meeting)
- Kenan Sawyer: have a space on ECA site to share things with group; can send an email to whole group membership through site; send things throughout the year
- KB Triennial will be in 2017

Adjourned 10:03

Attendance: 11

Chair/Planner for 2015 and 2016: Jean Miller Chair Planner for 2017 and 2018: Brian Gilchrist Executive Council: Elvera Berry Executive Council Alternate: Annie Laurie Nichols Secretary: Annie Laurie Nichols